In Europe

05/30/2013 13:00

I have been living overseas for two months now and so far so good. I moved here (sorry I am not going to be specific with that) for my job because it was an opportunity of a lifetime. I would have been idiotic not to take advantage of it and the only thing I had to really think about was how I was going to tell my parents. I was only 10 minutes away from them when I lived in the States so I would see them all the time and help them out a lot too. They took the news well and wished me the best so that made it even easier for me. I don’t know how long I am going to be here but I would think at least for another year. That is at least how long it will take the project I am working on to be completed.

I don’t miss much about living back home but two things come to mind. One is all the TV shows that I used to watch. I looked into a solution for that and am going to be getting a service with Strong vpn up and running so I can watch my shows like Duck Dynasty and The Dog Whisperer. I love watching that guy tame dogs more or less right away. I think or at least hope he does that and it isn’t creative editing on the producers' part.  My brother is the one who first told me about that show and I've been watching it ever since.

The other thing I miss is the food. The food here is just ok. I really miss my Mom’s cooking most of all and that is something that can’t be duplicated anywhere. I used to go over for dinner at least twice a week. I jokingly told her that she should hop on a plane with a suitcase of her food for me and she had a good laugh at that. I am going home for a week next month and you can bet that I will be eating as much of her food that I can. That is the plan that I will go home every three months for a week so that isn’t too bad. I think that helped my parents be so supportive too because they knew they would be seeing me at least four times a year.

That is pretty much all I have for today. Make sure you check back as I plan on updating this as much as I can.